top of page
Trophy History


Pirate's Cup:  A Traveling trophy donated by Richard Stokely in 1973. "'Pirate' was the name of the boat which introduced the romance of sailing into my life." This trophy is presented in the hope of inspiring love for sailing and a desire for sailing competition. Originally presented to the winner of the 5.5 meter fleet, it's now awarded to the winner of the cruisers race series.


Nimmer Trophy:  Donated by Bill and Gerrie Nimmer in 1997. These four traveling trophies (2 each in Div. I and II) are to be awarded annually to the winners of the mid-summer and the late summer regattas in the cruiser series.


The 1812 Telesccope:  Discovered and donated by George and Mary Ann Winter. This 19th century British Naval Officers telescope is awarded annually to the cruisers Sunday series non-spinnaker division overall winner.


Holiday Series Cup:  Donated by Randy and Ruth Cunzenheim in 2011. The cup is presented in appreciation to the Whealon family and to the membership of the FDLSC for sharing their camaraderie and knowledge of sailing with others.


Ed Malone Sr. Memorial Trophy:  Donated by Ed and Ethel Malone in 1972 in memory of his father. Ed was a renowned race official in ILYA and ice yachting circles. This traveling trophy originated as a Lightning Fleet award and is now awarded to the winner of the one-design fleet.


The Don Entringer Memorial Award:  Donated by George and Mary Ann Winter. This trophy is presented in memory of Dan Entringer, an enthusiastic member of our club who left us too early. It's awarded to the winner of the combined Tuesday night fleet's mid-season regatta.


Whale Plaque:  Donated by Pat and Karin Whealon. This traveling trophy recognized youth participation in sailing.  It originated with the Force 5 Fleet in 1976 and is now awarded to the youth most deserving of recognition.


Thomas McGauley Boat of the Year:  Awarded to the top boat overall in the Cruiser Class and the Day Sailor Class.

Lewis Cup - The Sailor of the Year Award:  Donated by Langdon Divers in 1971. This is a traveling trophy awarded annually to the individual who has displayed one or more of the following qualities:

  • Outstanding effort in the promotion of the sport of sailing and its enjoyment

  • Genuine enthusiasm for the amateur sport of sailing

  • Participation in sailing events as either sailor or organizer

(Click trophy name for list of recipients)

bottom of page